Thursday, September 19, 2013

Starbucks #PSL10 Has Coffee-drinkers Begging for a Vegan Version

When you become a vegan, one of the first things you notice is how many random foods and drinks are made with hidden dairy or egg ingredients.  Even something as simple as a slice of bread might be "enriched" with an egg wash or a bit of powdered milk.  So vegans have been dejected, but not surprised, to find that the hyped coffee of the fall season, Starbucks' 10th anniversary pumpkin spice latte (duly rewarded with its own Twitter hashtag #PSL10) is one of the coffee megachain's few beverages that can't be made vegan with the substitution of soy or almond milk.  

Enter the consumer petition and some hastily-offered workarounds...

Hunter Communications Original News Source:
Los Angeles Times

Link to article:

Excerpt: "When the fallen leaves begin to crunch under your boots, you know fall is coming. For many, it's the best time of year. It means back to school, Halloween candy, cozy coats and the return of the coveted Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Lattes. But not if you're a vegan.

Brent Caldwell, of Ferndale, Mich., has started a petition on Change.org. He wants his Pumpkin Spice Latte, and he wants it to be vegan.

If there ever were an actual, bona fide first world food problem, this would be it.

In the petition, Caldwell asks Starbucks to please make a vegan Pumpkin Spice Latte. He explains that he and his girlfriend visit their local Starbucks up to four times a week and that many of the drinks can be made vegan, but not the Pumpkin Spice Latte.

The Starbucks website lists the latte ingredients as: 'Signature espresso blended with the unmistakable spices of fall -- cinnamon, nutmeg and clove -- smooth with steamed milk, topped with delectably sweetened whipped cream and pumpkin pie spices.'

'There is currently no vegan option for this drink mix, which is a total bummer,' wrote Caldwell in bold.

A Starbucks representative confirmed Thursday that if you look at a Pumpkin Spice sauce mix container at a Starbucks, or ask a barista, you'll find the mix contains condensed milk.

'We really welcome customer feedback like this,' said the rep, who offered a couple of vegan alternatives to the latte. 'We have our VIA Pumpkin Spice coffee that does not contain dairy. We also have our Pumpkin Spice Topping that you can finish the beverage with if a customer wanted to add that hint of fall.'

No comments:

Post a Comment